[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

FWD>Is Windows a Virus?



Mail*Link( Remote             FWD>Is Windows a Virus?
Mail*Link(r) SMTP               Is Windows a Virus?

--------------------------------------
Date: 9/11/96 4:07 PM
From: Kim Corbitt
Date: Wed, 11 Sep 1996 15:49:02 -0400
From: corbitt at WILLEY.tautron.com (Kim Corbitt)
Subject: Is Windows a Virus?

It's email like this that makes me glad to be on unix!


----- Begin Included Message -----

  Is Windows a Virus?

  No, Windows is not a virus. Here's what viruses do:
  They replicate quickly - okay, Windows does that.

  Viruses use up valuable system resources, slowing down the system as they
  do so - okay, Windows does that.

  Viruses will, from time to time, trash your hard disk - okay, Windows does
  that too.

  Viruses are usually carried, unknown to the user, along with valuable
  programs and systems. Sigh... Windows does that, too.

  Viruses will occasionally make the user suspect their system is too slow
  (see 2) and the user will buy new hardware. Yup, that's with Windows, too.

  Until now it seems Windows is a virus but there are fundamental
  differences:Viruses are well supported by their authors, are running on
  most systems, their program code is fast, compact and efficient and they
  tend to become more sophisticated as they mature.

  So Windows is not a virus.

  It's a bug.


----- End Included Message -----


%%% overflow headers %%%
To: "Chris Alberth" <alberth at whss2.att.com>,
        "Sam Alexander" <76734.1537 at compuserve.com>,
        "Jennifer Berins" <jen at davsys.com>, "Jen Brand" <TBGB94C at prodigy.com>,
        "Don Cardone" <75500.2431 at compuserve.com>,
        "Donna Chapman" <donna358 at westworld.com>,
        "Paul Chapman" <paulrc at earthlink.net>,
        "Delphi Durrant" <106011.3366 at compuserve.com>,
        "Charles Eaton" <ceaton at enterprz.crawford.com>,
        "Ralph Edwards" <ralphedw at crl.com>,
        "Neil Feldman" <neilfeld at imssys.imssys.com>,
        "Teresa Firlit" <100526.3674 at compuserve.com>,
        "Paul Grace" <paulg at rushes.co.uk>, "Randy Hisle" <RandyH5205 at aol.com>,
        "Bill Hogan" <bhogan at sprocketdig.com>,
        "Tim Holmgren" <tim_holmgren at pinnpics.com>,
        "Neil Kempt" <neilhk at aol.com>, "Lou Levinson" <JoeBeats at ix.netcom.com>,
        "Rob Lingelbach" <rob at xyzoom.alegria.com>,
        "Don Logan" <aesop at haven.ios.com>,
        "Steve McIntyre" <sjmcintyre at kpmg.com>,
        "Brennan McTernan" <brennan at mte.com>,
        "Keith Miller" <kmiller at haven.ios.com>,
        "Bob Nelson" <rjn2 at columbia.edu>,
        "David S.  Northrop" <74543.210 at compuserve.com>, OPTIONSPJ at aol.com,
        "Mike Orton" <orton at earthlink.net>,
        "Radu Polizu" <rpolizu at mail.idt.net>, "Ken Robinson" <flight4 at ibm.net>,
        "Dwight Thornton" <TKFreek at aol.com>, "Bill Topazio" <bt at mte.com>,
        "Mike Waldie" <100526.3674 at compuserve.com>,
        "John Zaik" <deceased1 at aol.com>,
        "Martin Zeichner" <martinze at pipeline.com>,
        "Jerry Haggart" <jerry_haggart at mte.com>
%%% end overflow headers %%%